oldsunbird

"I have been more outrageous and more alone and more courageous than the world has known. Passerby, my heart is like your own."

Like Night and Day

Physically and emotionally at the other end of the spectrum.  Feels like a cinnamon day–pleasant and warm.

Adam put my tomato plants in the ground.  Brought his family–wife and three children.  Two girls and a boy danced through the yard, jumped, twirled, ran, waved at me through the glass wall while their mother and dad dug and watered and put up wire mesh to keep the animals out.

My blood pressure cooperated today and allowed me to do some things in the house.  Not much, but I’m grateful for whatever the universe offers.  I cleaned up the kitchen a little, went through some papers on my desk, made a meat loaf, baked potatoes and salad for supper.   The meat loaf mostly for K.  I’m a semi-vegetarian, do eat chicken and fish and occasionally beef if it’s well disguised.  I feel guilty about eating the animals because I truly don’t think it’s necessary.  I believe all life should be respected.  If you breathe and move you have as much right on this planet as I.  But old habits die hard.  And I’m weak.  Actions, sometimes, won’t go the distance with beliefs.

I’m grateful for this day, for the integrity of my body, the robins, cardinals, thrashers, crows, squirrels and the family of rabbits back of my house, the sun, sky, trees thick with leaves, my comfortable recliner in the sun room with the big windows, and for the frozen cherry yogurt I’m about to go and dish up for myself.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

