oldsunbird

"I have been more outrageous and more alone and more courageous than the world has known. Passerby, my heart is like your own."

Small Steps are Better than None

Saw my cardiologist today.  When the nurse wheeled me in she left the wheelchair outside the examining room, asked me if I could walk to the chair inside.  I did!  What a boost that gave me!  But after she left, and while I was waiting for the doctor, I felt stuck without it.  The door was closed and I was claustrophobic in the small room.   The loss of my crutch on wheels made me very uneasy.  But I got through it without having a panic attack.

The rest of the day, when the dogs wanted to go out, instead of using my wheelchair, I walked from my recliner in the sun room to the door (7 steps there, 7 steps back).  How ridiculous that must seem to anyone who may read this, but it’s a small beginning for me after three years of fear keeping me down.   I am hopeful for the future.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

