oldsunbird

"I have been more outrageous and more alone and more courageous than the world has known. Passerby, my heart is like your own."

All There Is

Tasty Food Abundance in Healthy Europe

Tasty Food Abundance in Healthy Europe (Photo credit: epSos.de)

I’m really into food.  Mostly healthy food.  I think about meals a lot, like I used to think about boys when I was young.  Breakfast.  Lunch.  Supper.  What do I want?  Wht do I have?  What do I need to order? Food is about the only pleasure I have left.

I’m also into nutrition, nutrition that will benefit my physical conditions—low sugar, low fat, low salt.

So I order cookbooks and books on nutrition from Amazon– Dean Ornish, Joy Bauer, Dr McDougall.  I watch the Food Network on TV.  I have my own page with Dr Weil online.  It’s personalized and includes health tips for my particular problems and the latest health news.  I get a daily menu which includes three meals a day and a library of meals I can choose as substitutes.

Today I roasted vegetables (my own recipe) for lunch and made hummus for supper.  I substituted peanut butter for the tahini because it’s healthier and, surprisingly, I don’t taste the peanut butter in the finished product.

Making those two things and cleaning the kitchen used up all my energy for today.  And I did most of it sitting in a wheelchair.   The things I fix these days must be quick and easy.   So I’ve had to put away most of my old favorite recipes.

I tried Meals on Wheels but the meals aren’t all that healthy or good.  So, it’s a struggle, but I can still put a meal together; and though what I do now is far removed from what I used to do in the kitchen, the food I cook is much better than having it brought in.  And I’m grateful for that.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “All There Is

  1. I have some very specific dietary needs as well and I have a problem chewing my food and gerds which makes it hard to get it to go down…Then there is the same problem you have…I can only stand for a few minutes before I feel faint and have to sit to cook. So my meals have been reduced from hours of loving to cook or bake to making the most nutritious for the my budget and chewable meal that takes only a few minutes of time and energy to prepare. Since you have done so much research on this and have a routine going that it healthy for you…I know a lot of people including myself who need low fat, low sodium and low sugar diets. Perhaps you could put together an ebook of recipes that are for people like us who are unable to cook the way we used to and are trying to remain independent. Sounds like you have already done a lot of footwork and testing the recipes to make them tasty as well. I’d be the first to buy it! 🙂

  2. lucewriter on said:

    Good for you for making the effort!! I had no idea that the food from Meals on Wheels isn’t nutritious (my father has volunteered for them and my father-in-law did also when he was alive) OR that you can use peanut butter to make hummus. I’ll pass that tip on to my daughter who has a new Cuisinart.
    Ebook recipe idea (above) is fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

