oldsunbird

"I have been more outrageous and more alone and more courageous than the world has known. Passerby, my heart is like your own."

Thanksgiving, 2012

 

I celebrate the maple tree

its late fiery brilliance

crimson leaves

birds who stayed

when others followed

the sun and stars

gray squirrels snuggling

in winter nests

spotted rabbits sleeping

in burrows,

mercurial sky

grass damp   recent rains

leaves torn by the wind

scattering earth

dogs   walkers   drivers

dashing down Luster

this bright sun room

where I sit

wrapped in velvet

eating toast and

drinking tea

my dog curled up

next to me

the thick richness

of this day

lifted from the bones

of a dewy night

just beginning

(c) Mary Harrison, 11/22/2012

 

Happy Thanksgiving to my followers and friends!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, 2012

  1. Mary, your poem is like a song…makes my heart sing…very touching…thanks for sharing! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Darlene, I’m so glad you enjoyed my poem. Thank you! I hope your weekend is wonderful too!

  3. lucewriter on said:

    Lovely poem. Happy (belated) Thanksgiving!

  4. Very nice, Mary. This is my favorite part: “wrapped in velvet, eating toast and drinking tea, my dog curled up next to me.” Hope you had a good Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you Maddie. I didn’t go traditional. I made lasagna and wrote a poem. Had a restful day. I hope you had a pleasant day.

      • I did, Mary. Thank you. It was just my husband, our son, my mother, and me. We didn’t have turkey; I stuffed a couple of chickens. I wrote on my book later later in the day, so our days weren’t too different, were they? 🙂

Leave a Reply

