oldsunbird

"I have been more outrageous and more alone and more courageous than the world has known. Passerby, my heart is like your own."

Progress

I walked forty steps with my walker today.  Breathless afterwards and had to rest, but it’s a beginning.

The past few weeks have been brutal, physically.  Today was more of the same but I decided I can’t go on like this.  I have to do something!  So I pushed through discomfort and fear, clenched my teeth and just DID it!  Jenny walking beside me.  The sun is shining, the weather is mild.  I’m alive again!

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Progress

  1. lucewriter on said:

    Good for you, Mary! So glad to “hear” your voice!

    • I’m so proud of you Mary… 🙂 Keep up the good work! YOU are worth it! You know I told that I had become bedridden in the past few years AND that I’ve been fighting to come back to the land of the living. Well I found out my test results a few days ago…and the reason I’m in such excruciating pain is because I have Osteoporosis (I’m 55, shocked by this) and Osteop -Arthritis in the spine, hips, fingers and toes. They also saw a fracture in the pelvis (probably from falling in the ice a few months ago) and I need a hip replacement. 😦 BUT, they were testing me for BONE CANCER and I don’t have that…so I’m so thrilled to know what is wrong and I am about start having a physical therapist work with me for pain management and get surgery done as soon as I can. I know its going to be a long road to recovery for the latest problems and that what I have is a debilitating and progressive disease. But again, its NOT CANCER! So I’m thrilled to know that at least and have some hope that in the future I will again be able to get up and stay out of this bed. Right now I’m living on memory which is sooo hot, it conducts body heat and I’m in menopause. Still it takes the pain down a notch when I lay a certain way and make its bearable. I’m also trying to stay busy from my bed. Making earrings and writing. My laptop is about to bite the dust, hopefully not before one of my novels goes viral…ha…ha.. 🙂 I know this is so hard for you to do…that its exhausting and painful…but you are taking back your life and moving forward with each step you take and I’m praying for you to accomplish all your goals this year and find some joy in each new day. Thinking of you and sending you a warm hug! 🙂

      • Darlene, It’s been so long. I’m truly sorry. I was away for quite a few months with my own physical problems. You’re too young to have osteo! Sorry to learn about your pain, but, yes! So glad it isn’t cancer! I hope you’re feeling better now and finding YOUR way! Love and hugs.

    • Thank you, dear one. Nice to hear you too!

  2. A little more, every day !

  3. Yay, Mary, I am so happy. Please persevere and do a bit every day. You are in my (our) thoughts.

  4. Pilgrim1966 on said:

    Well done!

  5. Bravo! You’ve got a great attitude. Just do it!

Leave a Reply

